Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


seven son soliloquies
October 27, 2020, 7:17 pm
Filed under: family, love, relationships

11.16.2019

DC Adoption Day

we have officially been a family for a year. our love for each other deepens daily. he is my son and I am his auntie/ mama. and we are loved by his uncle/ daddy.

I have not carved out much space and time for my poetry lately but I have encouragement from my beloved partner Rick and a wonderful collection of mothering creatives in the fertility abundance garden convened and curated by binahkaye joy.

my big boy turned 7 in october and I wanted to mark the time and celebrate him while honoring us. this is one of my favorite pictures of my son, blur and all. he asked me to tickle him before the picture so that he could have a natural smile…

img_4761

seven son soliloquies
© 2020 by margaux delotte-bennett

1.
I have a son
yet my body carries no scars
no cellular memory of
cohabitation
he is mine but does not share my DNA
just the name of a man
we both
will never know

2.
I have a sun
around which I orbit
my salt water properties
tears
sweat
ebb and flow at his whim
in response to his waning phases

3.
we seed and feed each other’s laughter

we seed and feed each other’s worry

4.
my son shines under attention
he also pressures himself to tears
he wants to be good at everything
immediately
repeatedly

5.
my sunshine
precious renewable energy source
harnessed and in great supply
usurper of my time
attention
food on my plate
claimed and consumed
marked and shadowed
all else eclipsed

6.
he made me mother
I did not make him son
but the one who did still joins us in his bed
some nights
we send her love
we ask her why
we thank her silently while we sometimes cry

7.
my sonshine is now 7

my sonshine has a name which means beloved

my sonshine is my sweet David


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Dear Sister, I am so blessed by your sharing of your blissful and challenging experience of motherhood! God Bless You and Your Family with Peace and Joy!

Comment by revsalia

This poem is so beautiful but the joy in hearing about this beautiful Union is even more beautiful… Thank you for sharing!

God bless your family

Comment by Lydia Tremayne

This gave me so much joy. Blessings and light to you and your sun.

Comment by kaxlan tuut




Leave a comment