Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


a new poem and an event!
June 5, 2018, 1:42 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

hello poetry friends!

I’m going to be performing a few poems next week at my local library. It is one of the events connected with an exhibition called “The Soul Tent: a Resurrection City Installation Project.” This is a traveling exhibit to four library branches to educate the public on the 50th Anniversary of the 1968 Poor People’s Campaign. There will be live events, story collecting, workshops, all connected to this theme. At the Woodridge Library there will be a screening a Nina Simone documentary and I have been asked to warm up the audience and give some poetic reflections about Ms. Simone’s life and times.

More info about the larger event can be found here.

Info about my specific poetry performance can be found here: MDB Nina Library event 6.12.18

and now for a completely unrelated poem.
enjoy!

 

what lingers
© 2018 by margaux delotte-bennett

though I no longer love you
the me that you revealed I do adore
she still lives
still responds to the name you gave her
still shows up and shows out
in the ways you encouraged

I underhand her brilliance at times
dim her down
curbing
confining
aiming to make her more palatable
though you consumed her like fire
never flinching
always hungry
each glimpse a tasty morsel
as she eeked her way out of their too small reference/ frame

she is the same, but more authentic
self directed
real
as we all tend to be in safer/ braver spaces

though I no longer love you
I love who you inspired me to be
and thankfully
that does not only sit
in bittersweet memory


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment