Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


Napowrimo, 30 of 30
May 6, 2017, 10:45 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I made it! 30 poems in 36 days! inspiration comes in many forms and carving out time and space for creation is important. I will be sharing some poetry at the end of this month at the 14th and V Busboys & Poets.

interpretation
(C) 2017 by margaux delotte-bennett

does it bother you that I watch you
tune into you while you work
not to analyze or assess
but to appreciate

I try not to stare
but you entice me
draw my eyes
and my attention
forcing me to note
wherever you are in the room

you flourish under our gaze
seem to bask in the light
black women can’t get enough of you
or so I’ve seen
noticed
felt and known
within my own skin

especially when you begin your craft
listening to interpret
and understand

eyes and face
mouth and hands
aligned and engaged
you take the stage
though small
but vital
as you bridge worlds
and ensure
understanding

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

