Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


in troubled times…
July 12, 2016, 9:52 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

we are required to make things of beauty

notice what remains

give thanks for the ability to be grateful

as mama Toni explains in this wonderful article from last year, “no place for self pity, no room for fear”,  she writes, “There is no time for despair, no place for self-pity, no need for silence, no room for fear. We speak, we write, we do language. That is how civilizations heal.”

so let’s heal. together.

13584882_10153858240334624_3869968732248000617_o
model/ yogini: Jasiri Nkalati
photographer: Jalaa’a, Rsinbow Tree Brinsley 

 

untitled #071216
© 2016 by margaux delotte-bennett

guides
I lay before you
hungry
broken
weary of this life
a life you left behind
but planned for
in your tired
and in your hunger

I can’t bow any further under the weight of things
I can’t stoop any lower beneath the gaze
and in my can nots
I know that I must
because you already did

my skin is the promise you left me
the very link from then to now
a birth mark
marked by my birth
in this time
at this place

I see your face
as I search my own
conscious, but unknown
pleading for a home
I never knew
because it grew from
within your whispered prayers
beneath your bended knee

I lie here
ready to follow your lead
I am your hope’s
first
seed

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

