Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


Art begets Art: Ekphrastic Poetry
July 5, 2015, 8:19 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

“An ekphrastic poem is a vivid description of a scene or, more commonly, a work of art. Through the imaginative act of narrating and reflecting on the “action” of a painting or sculpture, the poet may amplify and expand its meaning” (as defined by Poetry Foundation’s website).

I am very lucky to have a lot of talented artists in my community.  The following piece is a work in progress by my very talented friend Arijit Das.  You can check out more of his art here. I walked into his picture using what I know about his process.  I also just wrote based on how I was moved. Poets are always looking for writing prompts.  This was a great one.  Enjoy!

arijit das work in progress 1

all ways: in progress
     (an ode to the sqwuggles)
© 2015 by margaux delotte-bennett

there are pieces of me that
reside on paper

twisting
turning
space & flow

life is simpler at the end of my brush
filled with pigment
bursting with color
crushed ochre & borrowed time

there is a line
a boundary
the contents of which make up my playground
my resting place
temple & tempest
wind scattered muse

I come to you when I hunger
you feed me & send me on my way
tipping & toeing on the blank canvas
showing up to open up & work through

a promise
a platform
a rehearsal studio for the dance

hands limp
except for at the pressure points on the brush

mind open
except for the fear of getting in the way

eyes relaxed & turned inward

for today
we shall play

atijit das work in progress 2

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

