Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


poem of the (last) week…
August 27, 2013, 3:19 pm
Filed under: love, relationships

i typed this piece up at work and failed to post it last week.

 

Untitled #82213
© 2013 by margaux delotte-bennett

adult relationships
can be like adult beverages
complex concoctions of feelings & fears
mixed emotions
& measured words

they can be hard to swallow at times
the authority
the accountability
the authentic need to be transparent
& vulnerable
trying to walk upright
but really stumbling between sways
as I try to walk in my big girl shoes

I may choose to gulp it down
not savoring the label
the name
the shelf on which these feelings
have been presently placed
or stashed in the past

I may choose to sip
gingerly allowing the burn
to make its way to my core
my throat sore from talking & processing
owning up to my own stuff
so I can let it go
& move on

one must learn how to handle their liquor
much like their heart
recklessness is a choice
& I choose
to love
responsibly.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

hmmm…

Comment by j.




Leave a Reply

