Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


poem of the week: the climb
May 7, 2013, 11:47 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

the climb
© 2013 by margaux delotte-bennett

he says I climb
up and into words
and I do

I find a foothold and
step into the meaning
I grind my heels into the syntax
trying to heave the weight
of education and mis-education
into how I want to know
how I wish to sound
in this tongue
all my own

and once I am up
I use language to get down
deep into the belly of the words
dismantling stories
that tried to erase my voice
made louder now
because I have no other choice
but to keep climbing

this pen is my trusty pick ax
and this paper is my rope
as I make my way through
this rugged terrain

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

wow – love this

Comment by ayende

you inspired it with your words!

Comment by kinkywaves




Leave a Reply

