Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


napowrimo challenge: 16, 17 & 18 of 30
April 19, 2013, 12:36 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

i am making it through the month, but it is getting harder and harder… i am not sure where the challenge lies, but i am observing myself and my writing practice to better understand it all.

 

marathons
© 2013 by margaux delotte-bennett

there was a time
when my teenaged thumb and forefinger
were well practiced in the art of
delicately holding out
¾ filled
paper cups of water
to passing runners

my girl scout troupe
volunteered at the NYC marathon
for years

the memories are foggy now
but I will never forget the
the staccato rush of bodies
the pungent smell of endurance
the sensation of the cup
almost seeming to fall out of my hand
and into the thirsty grasp of a body
unable and/ or unwilling to stop
and take a moment to drink

and as the news of the explosions
at the Boston Marathon come to light
I find that once again
I have the sensation
this time
of my understanding
seeming to fall out of my hands
and into the thirsty grasp of bodies
unable and/ or unwilling to stop
and take a moment
to grieve

_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-

 

more hours
© 2013 margaux delotte-bennett

I would never want to add
more hours to my days
because then I would have
more to fill
more things to do
and more tasks left undone
because the pile of stuff I want to
accomplish
is growing
at a much faster rate
that what has already been done
but I keep pushing
watching the moments I had today
fade away
as I hungrily await
the next batch
coming tomorrow

_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

 

dating triolet
© 2013 by margaux delotte-bennett

the dating game is aptly named
toying with emotions already fragile with wear
our short attention spans should be blamed
the dating game is aptly named
tokens of success are seldom claimed
confusion due to oversight and/ or missing flare
the dating game is aptly named
toying with emotions already fragile with wear

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

