Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


napowrimo challenge: 13 of 30
April 16, 2013, 12:14 am
Filed under: women

though i need to post 3 poems, this one needs to be posted by itself…

 

mythologies_moma_2010-Wangechi-Mutu

 

myriad & mired mythologies (in response to Wangechi Mutu’s art)
© 2013 by margaux delotte-bennett

Mama Wangechi/

your art haunts me/ & not in a good way/
it assaults my eyes & my senses b/c it strips me
down to my base elements/
my tendrils & tails/ tales & horns
can not hide beneath ageless
smooth brown skin/ hair maintained by me & she/
clothing picked out to diminish this & accentuate that
w/i the femme mystique

you catch my gaze/ both viewer & viewed/
& force me to see the ugliness
in my beauty/
the blood & pain needed for
me to feature here/
on this canvas/ in this particular time

I am above/ below
servant/ served
foreground/ background/ ground
there is no part of your art
that is not me/ snaking my way
into & out of my own eyes
your paintings have layers & what is on the surface/ is
just the tip of what you have constructed
what you want me to see

you frighten me &
I sometimes want to scream &
let out the pretty/ pretty that gets lodged in my throat/
stuffed down there by those
who have had the paint
brushes
canvas & my piecemeal parts/
as a muse/ for too long.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

