Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


poem of the week: Celebrating Robert Burns
January 29, 2013, 11:50 pm
Filed under: DC life, love, performance

once again i was able to attend a Burns Night supper in honor of Scotland’s beloved poet Robert Burns who was born on January 25th, 1759. robert burns trilogy

i used one of his pieces as a catalyst to write my own. Here is a poetic conversation through the ages. Both pieces were recited at the dinner and you may want to also read them aloud.

 

One Fond Kiss
by Robert Burns

One fond kiss, and then we sever;
One farewell, and then forever!
Deep in heart-wrung tears I’ll pledge thee,
Warring sighs and groans I’ll wage thee.
Who shall so that Fortune grieves him,
While the star of hope she leaves him?

Me, nae cheerfu’ twinkle lights me;
Dark despair around benights me.
I’ll ne’er blame my partial fancy,
Nothing could resist my Nancy;

But to see her was to love her;
Love but her, and love forever.
Had we never lov’d so kindly,
Had we never lov’d so blindly,
Never met–or never parted–
We had ne’er been broken-hearted.

Fare thee well, thou first and fairest!
Fare thee well, thou best and dearest!
Thine be every joy and treasure,
Peace, enjoyment, love, and pleasure!

One fond kiss, and then we sever;
One farewell, alas, forever!
Deep in heart-wrung tears I’ll pledge thee,
Warring sighs and groans I’ll wage thee!

 

but a kiss was ne’r enough
by margaux delotte-bennett

of just one kiss you speak such fire
but we both know our true desire
would turn that simple kiss to ash
because like wind and waves we crashed

a love that in its first moments made clear
the heart wrenching end that always stood near
as we loved so kindly
loved so blindly
that it seemed enough, my dear

but life and fortune in their twisted wit
have plans for young lovers who propose to sit and try to dream out their future days
make plans for a road with which their very love is paved

and now these lips know naught but want
your continued hopes for good things seem to taunt
my heart to beat one more time
forgetting the cotton wool and the lime that fills my chest and ears and eyes
but like the moon and the sun
it is just my soul
left to rise

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Lovely. I once did a road race once for Scotland Week in NYC and the give away t-shirt was a portrait of Robert Burns. I gave it to my Scottish friend who really liked it!

The poem is lovely. Both his and yours. xxoo

Comment by mh

“but now these lips know naught but want”?

that’s my
favorite line…

hmmmm

Comment by j.




Leave a Reply

