Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


poem of the week: giving thanks
November 21, 2012, 1:32 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

i wish you and those you love a wonderful thanksgiving!

 

giving thanks
© 2012 by margaux delotte-bennett

thanks is never merely given
it is shown & felt
earned
sometimes showered
even on the undeserving

thanks moves
sometimes swerving
from heart to hand
gut to lips pursed
or parted
between eyes locked in looking
or simply lost

my thanks has no cost
it is often whispered on the breeze
made by my body as it bends to help
to give
to offer up its strength as a blessing and a gift

I prefer my thanks to uplift
to be lived
as it shines through my actions
that clang so much louder than my words

my thanks is to serve
and thanks
giving
should always be a verb

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

