Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


poem of the week: offerings
October 9, 2012, 11:03 pm
Filed under: DC life

offerings
© 2012 by margaux delotte-bennett

at least once a month there is a sacrifice

the anger
tedium
and strife
simmering inwards
bursts
out and onto my street
their corner
our ‘hood

it always starts the same
voices swelling like blowfish
or the vein lined throats of toads

a well placed scream
a shouted curse
a moan
punctuates the air

I peep through my window
and then retreat

the size and shape of the gathering crowd
swells and shrinks with the passage of time
the disjointed pitch of voices
advancing and retreating towards
the alter on which
today’s burnt offering
will be placed

I don’t know how the victim is chosen
but I know there is a choice
the hunger for blood and pain
is real
and can not be satiated
by just
anyone
weaker
slower
more willing
or more susceptible to
the poking and pushing
their words and hands
have practiced before now

once again
I peep through my window before
retreating back into my thoughts

all I know
is that there is a shift
a fever pitch
a starting of tonight’s street fight

and then an eerie
silence
as the prey
lays at rest
before the young gods

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

