Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


poem of the week: on the streets of Waikiki
September 5, 2012, 11:37 pm
Filed under: travel | Tags: , ,

photo by James Devine.  to see more photos in this series click here

 

while i was in hawaii in february, i was struck by the size and visibility of the homeless population there.  i started this poem while on the plane ride home, but i was not able to work on it until this past weekend.  having a friend currently on her honeymoon in hawaii reminded me that i needed to revisit this narrative. enjoy.

 

on the streets of Waikiki

© 2012 by margaux delotte-bennett

 

tarp and twine

bind more than my belongings

they allow me to be

bound

to this place

and time

stuck

though seldom locked

down

 

I sometimes fade

especially on days

when no one greets me

or meets my eyes

I guess the hunger

there is too real

 

I don’t ask for change

I don’t ask for time

I don’t ask

 

but what I want is as clear as the sea

around here

what I need is small enough

to fit into just one

of his six shopping bags

able to be found

inside just one of the many pockets

of her cargo pants

 

trying to hide my gaze would be futile

and why do I care about providing you comfort?

where is the comfort for me!

hell, yea I’m angry!

and tired

and hurting

in need of a place

where I too can drop my

baggage

without the fear that some joker

will find use for my stuff

 

it has taken me ages to gather

what I need to make it through

today

 

I make due

just like you.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

