Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


poem of the week: at your alter
March 30, 2012, 10:53 am
Filed under: self reflection

invariably, when i spend time in a place of worship, the poem below describes what happens to me…

 

at your alter
© 2012 by margaux delotte-bennett

willingly or unwillingly
I come bearing my tears as an offering
at your alter
and in your space

even when I think it won’t happen
it always does

but this time I have not been so moved
I have not been so touched
no tears will fall, not this time
my heart is not breaking open to let light in
breaking because this heart finds it too hard to just be open
at your alter
and in your space

so today I sit
in this hallowed room
this sacred chamber
and no particular thought makes my eyes well up
no particular song causes the first tear
to break free and fall
no particular passage starts the stream
running down and under my chin
first on one side
then on the other

willingly or unwillingly
I come offering my tears
to cleanse my soul
while chipping open this heart
bruised and battered
but allowed to be vulnerable
at your alter
and in your space
once again

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

