Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


poem of the week: words
March 20, 2012, 10:09 pm
Filed under: DC life, performance, women

did you know that March18th-March 24th is International Anti-Street Harassment Week? well it IS and my creative tribe, The Saartjie Project, will be participating by doing some street theater this Saturday 3/24/12 at 1:30pm near the corner of 7th and G Streets, NW. that is right in the HEART of Gallery Place. the piece i am posting today will be one of the pieces that i will be sharing on Saturday. If you are able to join us, we would love to see your smiling faces!

words
© 2001 by margaux delotte-bennett

if you don’t have a vagina
it might be hard to understand
how the words, “you’re a fine looking woman!”
can instantly turn from a phrase to seduce
into a noose
snaking its way around my oh so long and pretty
breakable neck

these words aren’t used to lift me up
but to hold me up
face to the wall
legs spread
juices hopefully flowing

who gave them the power?
who gave you the power?

it certainly wasn’t me that taught Zeus
that rape and seduce are synonymous
or teaches soldiers that if you can’t take it by air
take it by sea
or teaches some that ‘no means no’ is registered on a plane that only dogs
seems to unconditionally understand

and who am I to knock flattery?
because apparently someone staring at me
can’t help but see a queen
and when I serenely avoid the advances
I have to take my chances with being called a
stuck up bitch.
I wish I could shake you and make you overstand
the power you wield as a man.

use your words wisely
not on some corner to size up women the likes of me
who can plainly see
this really ain’t where you need to be.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Wish I could be there! Love the poem.

Comment by midori




Leave a Reply

