Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


poem of the week: some post-racial silliness…
October 25, 2011, 12:54 am
Filed under: love, self reflection

what does post-racial even mean?  i have not a clue, but it seemed like a good title for this post that is very racial and sometimes a little wrong, but hopefully in a good way!  here is a silly poem that danced in my head before finally making it out and onto some paper. please don’t take it too seriously, though there is some truth found within…

 

brown boy renaissance
© 2011 by margaux delotte-bennett

my heart is having a brown boy renaissance
it is centered and open
as it dances around trees
waiting patiently for its Bollywood hero
kicking
singing
sliding across rooms on his knees
before jumping up
shoulders shaking
as he dances around me…

my heart is having a brown boy renaissance
if you hail directly from any of the four corners of the continent
and your mother tongue starts with a Ki
the rights of passage through which you came of age
wasn’t a hodge podge of activities
gleaned from TV,
but you have a spear or at least a big stick
call me?

my heart is having a brown boy renaissance
if corn and its derivatives make up most of your diet
even in sauces and drinks
I’m willing to try it!
and if various wars on drugs have decimated
your family, culture or land
give me a try
beside you I’ll stand…

my heart is having a brown boy renaissance
be it Arab summer
or Arab spring
brown boys taking a stand
makes my heart sing
I will be your cheerleader
your champion
your main supporter to a tee

now if I can only get these brown boys
to want me!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

