Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


poem of the week: winged prayer
June 26, 2011, 12:29 am
Filed under: travel

 

as i was get ready for my vacation, the idea for this poem was rattling around in my brain… it is a rough draft, but at a place that i think it is good enough to share. my national poetry writing month participation taught me that good enough is worth sharing. constructive feedback is always welcome.

 

winged prayer
(c) 2011 by margaux delotte-bennett

there is a prayer
whose breath is
intimately linked to the taking off
of airplanes

i close my eyes
center my shoulders and chin
as i unfurl the wings
of my prayer
to lift the pounds of metal
glass
nervous chatter
hope
up and off of the spinning rubber
and fleeting tarmac

i pray each plane i take
into motion
and flight

the wings of my prayer
slice through clouds
before becoming them
matter changing
as perspective
elongates
and time stands a bit more still

the sound of the seatbelt sign dimming
brings me back to the now
when the winged breath
of my prayer
can be still
until it is needed
once more

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!! Amazing!!!!!!!!!!! You are a very gifted and prolific poetess. Beautiful work. I especially love the Candlelight “Spark” poem. You are indeed in touch with the Universal ONE. I am looking forward to the “Butterfly” poem. Blessed Love, Ras Yoel

Comment by Ras Joel




Leave a Reply

