Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


napowrimo challenge: 23 of 30
April 24, 2011, 9:42 pm
Filed under: family, love, self love

“[we] know that we must live what we preach, [we must] embody in our habits of being the liberation we lay claim to for our collective body politic.” bell hooks, Salvation: Black People and Love

habit forming
© 2011 by margaux delotte-bennett

I am in the habit of expecting people to try harder and surpass their best
we have no time for mere trying
lives hang in the balance when we inch forward instead of leap
others are just being held to the standard I hold myself to

shine
risk
question
succeed, exceed, proceed
towards a tomorrow that is brighter than today
all seeds planted by a mother who was not supposed to have well adjusted children because of her limited resources and means of support
she did not know this

and neither did I

liberation has never been out of my grasp
I freely live a life that I define and redefine at whim
and in moments of doubt
when I question my power and my will
the bell tolls and hooks into my fear
while urging me on

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

