Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


napowrimo challenge: 12 of 30
April 20, 2011, 9:18 pm
Filed under: DC life

 

it’s time to play catch up!

my prompt for this poem was to use the rhyme sceme of AA, BB, CC, DD, etc.

 

in spring
(c) 2011 by margaux delotte-bennett

with my flower-like tendencies, i too bloom in spring
adorned from head to toe in colors, my spirit sings
a song of possibility
against summer heat’s hostility
though i don’t mind being cloaked in sweat
my heart, mind, closet are not ready for all that yet…

as i glowed my way up my street
umbrella in hand, rain boots on my feet
i was reminded of a simple truth
(hovering above me was definite proof)

there is a special green
that can really only be seen
when stormy skies
awaken the eyes
to life refracted and pulsing beneath
sunlight turned into food, along the curve of a leaf.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

