Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


NaPoWriMo Challenge:1 of 30
April 1, 2011, 3:09 pm
Filed under: self reflection

 

Today is the first day of National Poetry Writing Month! This is not a joke. I am aiming to write a poem a day for the next 30. I actually started 3 poems today, but only one seemed to be close to ‘finished’. I have a feeling that my understanding of that word, finished, will shift a lot over the next month…

 

lady (c) 2011 by margaux delotte-bennett

things that happen for ‘ladies’
seldom happen for me
no doors opened
lines skipped
indiscretions overlooked

my strength is seen
assumed
demanded
based on my stature and
the space that i claim as a woman

female bodied
male minded
transcending binary notions of treatment
so treats meant
for ladies
must be too sweet
for me

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

