Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


Poem of the Week: the mask
March 22, 2011, 11:49 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

i decided today to participate in the NaPoWriMo challenge.  April is National Poetry Month *and* National Poetry Writing Month. During the magical 30 days of April, poets from all over the country (and world possibly!) will be striving to write a poem a day. it’s not like i really need more things to do, but as a poet it would be great to push myself and see what emerges.

here is a piece that may not be finished, but is brand new… enjoy.

 

the mask

© 2011 by margaux delotte-bennett

 

when pleasantries come to an end and even wonders cease

the white mask behind which you hide rests by your side

it is still moist with the sweat of fear

musty with the scent of hatred

foul to my senses and my mind

 

i did not come here to garner your acceptance

affirming my place is my duty

my obligation

too many have been forgotten and forlorn

fighting for my right to be

here

no longer lurking

but standing tall

rightfully asserting this space

as my own

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I love your poems. I look forward to one-a-day to keep me going.

Comment by Rose




Leave a Reply

