Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


this week’s poem…
December 15, 2010, 11:51 pm
Filed under: self reflection

my poem of the week is a day later than usual because i had some computer issues yesterday evening.  not sure why i wanted to post this poem… but here it is! this piece was originally published in the book Liberated Muse Volume 1: How I Freed My Soul. The book is available through Amazon here.  I am currently working on getting reprints of my self published poetry chapbook.  details to come…

 

slave song (c) 2009 by margaux delotte-bennett

I don’t know what I’m fighting for some days
When is it time to work?
When is it time to play?
What is my source and what is my light along the way?
Was this the path suppose to lead me to today?

And I look to the past and see faces stripped with tears
And I look at my past fighting to survive all those years
And I look to the past…

This is my slave song
This is my slave song

I don’t know which way is right some days
When is it time to laugh?
When is it time to scream is fright?
What leads me on and fills me to my highest height?
And what can soothe me in my darkest night?

And I look to the past and see faces stripped with tears
And I look at my past fighting to survive all those years
And I look to the past…

This is my slave song
This is my slave song

Feeling whole
Dancing free
Open to finally being me
In all the possibilities…

And I look to the past and see faces stripped with tears
And I look at my past fighting to survive all those years
And I look to the past…

This is my slave song
This is my song

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

