Black & Kinky Amongst Brown Waves


Get Kinky at the Fringe Festival!
March 2, 2010, 3:43 am
Filed under: performance

Black & Kinky Amongt Brown Waves was accepted into the Capital Fringe Festival! Details are still forthcoming, but I definitely look forward to presenting my piece this summer… What an exciting year 2010 has already turned out to be!

What is a Fringe Festival?

A Fringe Festival is a convening of performance artists (theater, dance, poetry, mime, musicians; you get the picture…) that come together to present work that doesn’t always get supported in the mainstream.  The Capital Fringe Festival, “…strives to provide outlets and opportunities for artists to self-produce in a nurturing and supportive environment while exposing their work to patrons and the local, national and international media that they would never be able to garner on their own” (from thir website).

I wanted to be a part of the Fringe Festival to challenge myself to do a longer theatrical run, to meet the wacky and wild audiences that are often drawn to Fringe and to see if and how my piece is received in a new setting.  I know it’s going to be an adventure and I hope you join me on it!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hooray! Congrats, Margaux! I was bummed to have missed it in November, I will be sure to make it this summer!

Comment by Justin




Leave a Reply

